English
 

Albertos Polizogopoulos est associé et membre de l’équipe de litige. Il concentre sa pratique dans les domaines du litige civil, commercial, et constitutionnel. Me Polizogopoulos représente tant les individus, que les entreprises, sociétés, institutions financières, université, églises et organismes de bienfaisance. Il conseille ses clients sur toutes questions relatives au contentieux et à la responsabilité délictuelle.


En tant qu’avocat en contentieux, Me Polizogopoulos est fréquemment consulté pour adresser une variété de questions portant sur les conflits contractuels et d’assurance, la négligence professionnelle, le litige constitutionnel, la diffamation, les droits de la personne, le litige en droit fiscal et en droit de l’emploi, ainsi qu’en matière de recouvrement et d’exécution. Dans sa pratique du droit ecclésiastique, Me Polizogopoulos conseil des églises Catholiques, Protestantes ainsi que d'autres églises au sujet de politiques d'église, la discipline et l'adhésion.

Me Polizogopoulos a été avocat dans de nombreux dossiers constitutionnels et médiatisés, incluant huit appels devant la cour suprême du Canada, et a plaidé devant plusieurs tribunaux administratifs, ainsi que devant la Cour supérieure de justice de l’Ontario, la Cour divisionnaire de l'Ontario, la Cour d’appel de l’Ontario, la Cour suprême de la Nouvelle-Écosse la Cour d'appel de la Nouvelle-Écosse, Cour canadienne de l’impôt, la Cour fédérale du Canada, la Cour fédérale d'appel et la Cour suprême du Canada à plusieurs reprises. Me Polizogopoulos est ou a déjà été membre de plusieurs conseils d’administration d’organismes et d’institutions caritatives. 

Les services de Me Polizogopoulos sont régulièrement retenus par d’autres avocats. Plus précisément, Me Polizogopoulos fournit des conseils et des services de représentation pour les requêtes et les appels à la Cour suprême du Canada, ainsi que de la recherche et des avis sur des questions juridiques complexes. Me Polizogopoulos est aussi fréquemment invité à se prononcer sur des questions de droit constitutionnel et de droit de la personne.

Un certain nombre de ses causes bien connues ont bénéficié d'une large couverture médiatique dans des publications telles que le Globe and Mail, le magazine Maclean, le Vancouver Sun, le Catholic Register et le Ottawa Citizen. Les commentaires de Me Polizogopoulos ont également paru dans divers médias comme le Globe and Mail, CTV News, le Wall Street Journal, Faith Today et le National Post, entre autres.


Domaines D’expertise

  • Droit constitutionnel et les droits de la personne
  • Contentieux civil et commercial
  • Plaidoiries en Appel et services de représentation à la Cour suprême du Canada
  • Droit ecclésiastique
  • Droit de l’éducation
  • Droit du travail et de l’emploi pour employeurs
  • Recherche juridique et rédaction d’avis juridiques sur des questions complexes
  • Assurance et Dommages corporels

    Travail Représentatif

    Travail Représentatif à la Cour suprême

    • Représenté l'Alliance évangélique du Canada et Christian Higher Education Canada dans des causes traitant la Charte des droits et libertés relié à l'école de droit proposé par Trinity Western University (Trinity Western University c. Law Society of Upper Canada et Law Society of British Columbia c. Trinity Western University, En cours).
    • Représenté l’Alliance évangélique du Canada et La Ligue Catholique pour les
      Droits des L’Hommes devant la Cour suprême du Canada dans une cause portant sur l'appartenance à une église et la discipline religieuse (Wall v. Judicial Committee of the Highwood Congregation of Jehovah's Witnesses, Décision réservée.
    • Représenté l’Alliance évangélique du Canada et l’Alliance des chrétiens devant la Cour suprême du Canada dans une cause portant sur la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés dans laquelle la Cour a considéré la liberté de religion d'une groupe Aborigène (Ktunaxa Nation Council et al. c. Colombie Britannique et al., 2017 CSC 54).
    • Représenté l'Alliance catholique canadienne de la santé sur des questions en relation avec la Charte des droits et libertés traitant la décriminilisation proposée de l'aide au suicide (Carter c. Canada (Procureur général), 2015 CSC 5).
    • Représenté le Christian Medical and Dental Society of Canada et le Canadian Federation of Catholic Physicians' Societies sur des questions en relation avec la Charte des droits et libertés traitant la décriminilisation proposée de l'aide au suicide dans laquelle la Cour a cité son mémoire et a accepté les soumissions de ses clients, dont les médecins ne devraient pas être forcé à dispenser l'aide au suicide si ceci viole leurs croyances religieuses ou morales (Carter c. Canada (Procureur général), 2015 CSC 5).
    • Représenté l'Alliance évangélique du Canada à la Cour suprême du Canada sur des questions en relation avec la Charte des droits et libertés traitant la récitation d'une prière avant les réunions du conseil municipal (Mouvement laïque québécois c. Saguenay (Ville), 2015 CSC 16).
    • Représenté l'Alliance évangélique du Canada à la Cour suprême du Canada sur des questions en relation avec la Charte des droits et libertés traitant de la liberté de religion communautaire et associationnelle (École secondaire Loyola c. Québec (Procureur général), 2015 CSC 12).
    • Représenté l'Alliance évangélique du Canada à la Cour suprême du Canada sur des questions en relation avec la Charte des droits et libertés traitant de la fin de vie et de la liberté de religion et de conscience (Cuthbertson c. Rasouli, [2013] CSC 53).
    • Représenté l’Alliance évangélique du Canada à la Cour suprême du Canada dans une cause portant sur les droits parentaux en éducation. (S.L. c. Commission scolaire des Chênes, [2012] CSC 7).
    • Représenté l’Alliance évangélique du Canada et l’Alliance des chrétiens devant la Cour suprême du Canada dans une cause portant sur la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés, dans laquelle la Cour a accepté les soumissions de ses clients et a déclaré que la liberté de religion s’étend aux groupes religieux et aux communautés, tout comme aux individus. (Alberta c. Hutterian Brethen of Wilson Colony, [2009] 2 R.C.S. 567).
    • Représenté l'Association for Reformed Political Action Canada lors d’une requête en intervention et a agi à titre de correspondant de la Cour suprême pour l’intimé lors d’un appel à la Cour suprême du Canada traitant de la liberté d'expression (Saskatchewan Human Rights Commission c. William Whatcott, [2013] CSC 11).
    Autre Travail Représentatif
    • Représenté le Christian Medical and Dental Society of Canada, le Canadian Federation of Catholic Physicians' Societies, Canadian Physicians for Life et cinq médecins individuels dans une requête contestant la constitutionalité de deux politiques du Collège des médecins et chirurgiens de l'Ontario qui oblige des médecins à entreprendre des activités qui violent leur conscience et croyances religieuses, incluant aider leurs patients à mettre fin à leur vie (Christian Medical and Dental Society c. College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario, 2018 ONSC 579).
    • Représenté le Association for Reformed Political Action  (ARPA) Canada et une blogeuse avec succès dans une requête contestant la constitutionalité de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information et la protection de la vie privée qui exclue tous documents concernant la provision d'avortements ARPA Canada et al. c. Ontario, 2017 ONSC 3285).
    • Représenté E.T., un parent chrétien dans une requête contre le Hamilton-Wentworth District School Board. Le conseil scolaire a refusé d'avertir le parent de certaines leçons ou activités qui traitaient de sujets sensibles et a refusé de permettre le parent de retirer ses enfants de les leçons et activités qui traitaient de sujets sensibles (E.T. c. Hamilton-Wentworth District School Board, et al., 2017 ONCA 893).
    • Représenté avec succès The Private Academy, une école chrétiènne privée qui a du défendre une plainte par un couple du même sexe qui a allégué de la discrimination sur la base de leur orientation sexuelle, état matrimonialle, état familliale et croyances religieuses (S, S.S and N.S. by his litigation guardian S.S. v. The Private Academy, 2017 HRTO 791).
    • Représenté l'Alliance évangélique du Canada et Christian Higher Education Canada dans des causes traitant la Charte des droits et libertés relié à l'école de droit proposé par Trinity Western University devant la Cour divisionnaire de l'Ontario (Trinity Western University et al. v. The Law Society of Upper Canada et al., 2015 ONSC 4250) et devant la Cour d'appel de l'Ontario (Trinity Western University c. The Law Society of Upper Canada, 2016 ONCA 518).
    • Représenté l'Alliance évangélique du Canada et Christian Higher Education Canada dans des causes traitant la Charte des droits et libertés relié à l'école de droit proposé par Trinity Western University devant la Cour suprême de la Nouvelle-Écosse (Trinity Western University et al., c. Le Barreau de la Nouvelle-Écosse et al., 2015 NSSC 25) et devant la Cour d'appel de la Nouvelle-Écosse (Le Barreau de la Nouvelle-Écosse et al. v. Trinity Western University et al., 2016 NSCA 59).
    • Représenté une requérante cherchant de l'information relié à un genre spécifique d'avortement ainsi que les coûts de ceux-ci dans une demande d’accès à l’information devant le Commissaire à l'information et à la protection de la vie privée de l'Ontario et la Cour divisionnaire de l'Ontario (Maloney v. Ontario (Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care) et al.).
    • Représenté un requérant dans une demande pour une exemption religieuse de l'adhésion obligatoire à un syndicat et du paiement obligatoire des cotisations syndicales devant le Conseil canadien des relations industrielles et la cour d'appel fédérale du Canada (Bradford v. National Automobile, Aerospace, Transportation and General Workers Union of Canada, 2015 FCA 84).
    • Représenté Carleton Lifeline, un club universitaire pro-vie à l’Université Carleton dans une action contre l’université portant sur la liberté d’expression et l’application de la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés aux universités (Lobo et al. c. Université Carleton et al.).
    • Représenté Life Choice, un club universitaire pro-vie à l’Université Guelph dans un appel administratif d’une décision de l’association d’étudiants révoquant leur statut de club sur la base que l’association d’étudiant était une organisation pro-choix.
    Travail Représentatif politique et législatif
    • A représenté le Christian Medical and Dental Society of Canada, le Canadian Federation of Catholic Physicians' Societies et Canadian Physicians for Life sur des soumissions devant le Collège des médecins et chirurgiens du Saskatchewan traitant de leur politique Conscientious Refusals.
    • A représenté le Christian Medical and Dental Society of Canada et le Canadian Federation of Catholic Physicians' Societies sur des soumissions devant le Collège des médecins et chirurgiens de l'Ontario traitant de leur politique Professional Obligations and Human Rights.
    • A comparu devant le Comité permanent de la politique sociale de l'Assemblée législative de l'Ontario au nom de la Coalition pour les droits parentaux en éducation concernant le Projet de loi 13, Loi de 2012 pour des écoles tolérantes.

    Associations Professionnelles

    • Membre, Association du Barreau du Comté de Carleton
    • Membre, Alliance des chrétiens en droit
    • Société canadienne de droit canonique
    • Le Rideau Club, membre du conseil d'administration
    • Membre, American Hellenic Educational Progressive Association, ancien vice-président

français
 

Albertos Polizogopoulos is a partner practicing in our litigation department. He practices primarily in the areas of constitutional, commercial and civil litigation. Mr. Polizogopoulos represents individuals, businesses and corporations, financial institutions, universities, churches and charities. He provides advice to his clients in all matters relating to litigation and liability.


As litigation counsel, Mr. Polizogopoulos is frequently called upon to address a variety of matters including contract, employment, insurance and human rights disputes, professional malpractice, defamation, tax litigation, debt recovery and enforcement. In his ecclesiastical law practice, Mr. Polizogopoulos advises Roman Catholic, Protestant and other churches, providing counsel on church policies, church discipline and church membership.

An advocate, Mr. Polizogopoulos has been counsel in many leading constitutional cases and high-profile matters and has appeared before various administrative tribunals and courts including the Ontario Superior Court of Justice, the Divisional Court of Ontario, the Court of Appeal for Ontario, the Supreme Court of Nova Scotia, the Nova Scotia Court of Appeal, the Tax Court of Canada, the Federal Court of Canada, the Federal Court of Appeal and before the Supreme Court of Canada on multiple occasions. Mr. Polizogopoulos also sits or has sat on the boards of a number of local charities and organizations.

Mr. Polizogopoulos is regularly retained by other counsel, providing advice and agency services regarding motions and appeals before the Supreme Court of Canada as well as research and opinions on complex legal matters. Mr. Polizogopoulos is also frequently invited to comment or speak on constitutional and human rights law matters.

A number of his high profile cases have received widespread media coverage in publications such as the Globe and Mail, Maclean's Magazine, the Vancouver Sun, the Catholic Register and the Ottawa Citizen. Mr. Polizogopoulos has also had commentary featured in media outlets such as the Globe and Mail, CTV News, The Wall Street Journal, Faith Today and the National Post, among others.


Areas of Expertise

  • Constitutional and Human Rights Law
  • Civil and Commercial Litigation
  • Appellate Advocacy and Supreme Court Agency Services
  • Ecclesiastical Law
  • Education Law
  • Employment and Labour Law for Employers
  • Complex Legal Research and Opinions
  • Personal Injury and Insurance Litigation

Representative Work

Supreme Court Representative Work:

  • Represented the Evangelical Fellowship of Canada and Christian Legal Fellowship in a Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms matter dealing with a religious freedom claim on behalf of an Aboriginal group (Ktunaxa Nation Council et al. v. British Columbia et al., Decision reserved).
  • Represented the Catholic Health Alliance of Canada in a Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms matter dealing with the proposed legalization of assisted suicide (Carter v. Canada (Attorney General), 2015 SCC 5).
  • Represented the Christian Medical and Dental Society of Canada and the Canadian Federation of Catholic Physicians' Societies in a Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms matter dealing with the proposed legalization of assisted suicide in which the Supreme Court quoted his Factum and accepted his clients’ argument that physicians should not be required to engage in physician-assisted suicide if doing so would violate their religious or moral beliefs (Carter v. Canada (Attorney General), 2015 SCC 5).
  • Represented the Evangelical Fellowship of Canada before the Supreme Court of Canada on a Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms matter dealing with the recitation of prayer before City Council meetings (Mouvement laïque québécois v. Saguenay (City), 2015 SCC 16).
  • Represented the Evangelical Fellowship of Canada before the Supreme Court of Canada on a Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms matter dealing with communal and associational freedom of religion (Loyola High School, et al. v. Attorney General of Quebec, 2015 SCC 12).
  • Represented the Evangelical Fellowship of Canada before the Supreme Court of Canada on a Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms matter dealing with end of life matters and freedom of religion and conscience (Cuthbertson v. Rasouli, [2013] SCC 53).
  • Represented the Evangelical Fellowship of Canada before the Supreme Court of Canada on a Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms matter dealing with parental rights in education (S.L., et al. v. Commission scolaire des Chênes, et al.,[2012] SCC 7).
  • Represented the Evangelical Fellowship of Canada and Christian Legal Fellowship before the Supreme Court of Canada on a Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms matter in which the Supreme Court accepted his clients’ arguments and clearly established that freedom of religion extends to religious groups and communities as to individuals (Alberta v. Hutterian Brethren of Wilson Colony, [2009] 2 S.C.R. 567).
  • Represented the Association for Reformed Political Action in a motion to intervene and acted as Supreme Court Agent for the Respondent in an appeal before the Supreme Court of Canada dealing with freedom of expression (Saskatchewan Human Rights Commission v. William Whatcott, [2013] SCC 11).
Other Representative Work:
  • Representing the Christian Medical and Dental Society of Canada, the Canadian Federation of Catholic Physicians Societies, Canadian Physicians for Life and five individual physicians challenging the constitutionality of policies of the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario which requires physicians to engage in activities which violate their conscience and religious beliefs, including assisting patients in ending their lives (Christian Medical and Dental Society et al. v. College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario, Ongoing).
  • Represented the Association for Reformed Political Action  (ARPA) Canada and a blogger in a challenge to the constitutionality of the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act which excludes from public access all information related to the provision of abortion services (Association for Reformed Political Action  (ARPA) Canada et al. v. Ontario, Decision reserved).
  • Representing E.T., a Christian father in an Application against the Hamilton-Wentworth District School Board. The school board refused to advise the father of certain lessons and activities dealing with sensitive subjects and refused to permit the father to withdraw his children from such lessons and activities (E.T. v. Hamilton-Wentworth District School Board, et al., 2016 ONSC 7313, appeal ongoing).
  • Represented the Evangelical Fellowship of Canada and Christian Higher Education Canada in Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms matters related to the proposed law school of Trinity Western University before the Divisional Court of Ontario (Trinity Western University et al. v. The Law Society of Upper Canada et al., 2015 ONSC 4250) and before the Court of Appeal for Ontario (Trinity Western University v. The Law Society of Upper Canada, 2016 ONCA 518).
  • Represented the Evangelical Fellowship of Canada and Christian Higher Education Canada in Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms matters related to the proposed law school of Trinity Western University before the Nova Scotia Supreme Court (Trinity Western University et al. v. Nova Scotia Barristers' Society et al., 2015 NSSC 25) and the Nova Scotia Court of Appeal (Nova Scotia Barristers' Society et al. v. Trinity Western University et al., 2016 NSCA 59).
  • Represented an Applicant seeking information related to the number of specific types of abortions performed and the cost associated with them in a freedom of information appeal before the Information and Privacy Commissioner of Ontario and the Divisional Court of Ontario (Maloney v. Ontario (Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care) et al.).
  • Represented an Applicant seeking a religious exemption to mandatory membership in a trade union and the mandatory payment of union dues before the Canada Industrial Relations Board and the Federal Court of Appeal of Canada (Bradford v. National Automobile, Aerospace, Transportation and General Workers Union of Canada, 2015 FCA 84).
  • Represented Carleton Lifeline, a pro-life campus club at Carleton University, in an action against the University dealing with right to freedom of expression by students on campus and the applicability of the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms to universities (Lobo et al. v. Carleton University et al.).
  • Represented Life Choice, a pro-life campus club at Guelph University in an administration appeal of the decision by the Guelph Students' Association to revoke Life Choice's club status on the grounds that the Guelph Students' Association was a pro-choice organization.

Policy and Legislative Representative Work:

  • Represented the Christian Medical and Dental Society of Canada, the Canadian Federation of Catholic Physicians Societies and Canadian Physicians for Life in submissions before the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Saskatchewan regarding its policy Conscientious Refusals.
  • Represented the Christian Medical and Dental Society of Canada and the Canadian Federation of Catholic Physicians Societies in submissions before the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario regarding its policy Professional Obligations and Human Rights.
  • Appeared before the Legislative Assembly of Ontario’s Standing Committee on Social Policy on behalf of the Coalition for Parental Rights in Education in relation to Bill 13: Accepting School Act.

Professional Affiliations

  • County of Carleton Law Association
  • Christian Legal Fellowship
  • Canadian Canon Law Society
  • American Hellenic Educational Progressive Association, Past Vice-President